WGBH News is proud to announce it has won two Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, awarded by the Radio Television Digital News Assocation (RTDNA).

Reporters Craig LeMoult, Phillip Martin and Tina Martin collectively took home the Continuing Coverage award for their radio reporting of the 10-alarm fire in East Cambridge in December 2016.


Click on the audio player above to hear WGBH News' coverage of the East Cambridge fire

Jared Bowen, WGBH Arts Editor and host of Open Studio, earned the Feature Reporting award for his television feature on photographer Elsa Dorfman.

News Director Kate Zachry offered her congratulations to LeMoult, Phillip Martin and Tina Martin on their team effort:

“The Continuing Coverage award was a team effort and an example of outstanding reporting by Phillip Martin, Craig LeMoult and Tina Martin," Zachry said. "They were on the scene and stayed for days reporting on the devastation the fire left behind. Tina, Craig and Phillip brought the voices of the displaced families who lost their homes to life. WGBH News continued to follow those families as they stayed in an emergency center and reported on the community that was helping them get back on their feet.” 

She also congratulated Bowen on his achievement:

"Jared’s profile of Elsa Dorfman brought the viewer behind-the-scenes into the photographer’s studio, at a moment when she was winding down her more than 50-year career," Zachry said. "This is an example of what Open Studio does best – give the audience unique access to the artist and her work.”

Watch the video above to see Jared Bowen's feature on Elsa Dorfman.

Regional winners are now automatically in the running for National Edward R. Murrow Awards, which will be announced in June.