What matters to you.
Play Live Radio
Support for GBH is provided by:

Rosanna Warren

professor, English, romance studies, Boston University

Rosanna Warren is the Emma Ann MacLachlan Metcalf Professor of the Humanities and a Professor of English and Romance Studies at Boston University. She received the 92nd Street YMHA/YWHA The Nation Discovery Award in poetry (1980), the Lila Wallace-Reader's Digest Writer's Award for Poetry (1993), the Lamont Prize from the Academy of American Poets for her book Stained Glass (1993), the Witter Bynner Prize for Poetry of the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1993), and the May Sarton Award from the New England Poetry Club (1995). In 1997 she was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2004 the American Academy of Arts and Letters awarded Professor Warren the 2004 Award of Merit of Poetry, given once every six years to an outstanding poet. In 2005 she was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She has also received grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, and the American Council of Learned Societies. Professor Warren served as Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets from 1999-2005. In the fall of 2000 she was *The New York Times* Resident in Literature at the American Academy in Rome. Her other books are *Snow Day* (1981), *Each Leaf Shines Separate* (1985), *The Art of Translation: Voices From the Field* (1989), for which she was editor and contributor, and a translation of Euripides' *Suppliant Women* (with Stephen Scully, 1995). She has edited two volumes of William Arrowsmith's translation of the poems of Eugenio Montale (Cuttlefish Bones, 1992 and Satura 1998), and three anthologies of verse by prison inmates (*In Time* with Teresa Iverson, 1995; *From This Distance* with Meg Tyler, 1996; and *Springshine* with Meg Tyler, 1998). Other publications include *The Notes of Andre Derain*, an edited translation and essay, and articles on John Ashbery, Giacomo Leopardi, Gerard de Nerval, Stephen Spender, Derek Walcott, Apollinaire, and Umberto Saba. Her most recent book of poems is *Departure* (2003). In 2008 she published a book of literary criticism, *Fables of the Self: Studies in Lyric Poetry*. Photo credit to Michelle DeBakey. In 2004 Professor Warren received the Boston University Metcalf Award for Excellence in Teaching. In 2006 Professor Warren received the Ellen Maria Gorrissen Berlin Prize at the American Academy in Berlin.