The Department of Homeland Security's Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) has released a report on local law enforcement agencies that, the agency says, declined to comply with official requests by ICE, called "detainers," to hold or transfer individuals in custody for immigration enforcement actions. 

The document is the first edition of what the agency says will be a weekly report. For the week of January 28-February 3, 2017, the report says, ICE issued 3,083 such requests.  

 The report also appears to represent the first edition of an official public list under the Trump administration of what it calls "Jurisdictions that have enacted policies which limit cooperation with ICE," -- in other words, so-called 'sanctuary' cities and communities. 

The list currently features 96 cities, towns, counties and some agencies. It cites five communities in Massachusetts and four others under the jurisdiction of ICE's Boston office, which oversees enforcement in the six states of New England.

It’s not immediately clear what criteria was used to compile the different lists, or what the potential consequences of being “on the list” would mean. President Trump has threatened to deny federal funds to so-called ‘sanctuary cities.’ 

The list does not include some other nearby cities, like Chelsea, Brookline, and Newton that have called themselves "sanctuary cities," -- though it notes that "there may be other non-cooperative jurisdictions" left out of the current iteration.


Full report here:

ddor2017_01-28to02-03 by isaiah.thompson4452 on Scribd