A production of  
  

WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

Rick Bayless

Tue. Sep 26, 12:30 AM
WGBH CREATE

Johnny Iuzzini

Fri. Sep 29, 7:00 PM
WGBH CREATE

Johnny Iuzzini

Sat. Sep 30, 12:30 AM
WGBH CREATE

Simply Ming: Season 14 Sizzle Reel

Season 14 of the Daytime Emmy-winning SIMPLY MING kicks off with a technique demonstration, followed by the creation of two dishes — one prepared by a nationally renowned guest chef and one by the James Beard-and-Emmy Award-winning host Ming Tsai. Ming and his guests must design and improvise a meal with items found in Ming's East-West pantry along with a few surprise ingredients. This season's guest chefs include: Lidia Bastianich, Rocco DiSpirito, Daniel Boulud, Jacques Pepin, Rick Bayless and more, preparing an array of dishes and desserts from Scandinavian halibut, Maine mussels and a spinach pasta to a lobster risotto, crispy calamari and a dark and stormy soufflé from pastry master Johnny Iuzzini. And Ming goes back on the road this season, with eight very special episodes featuring exotic new dishes from Hawaii’s big island and Norway

More about Ming

Ming, shown here with his parents, Stephen and Iris Tsai, was raised in Dayton, Ohio, where he spent hours cooking alongside his mother and father at their family-owned restaurant. With a passion for food even after earning his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering from Yale University, he spent time training in kitchens around the globe. In 1998, Ming opened Blue Ginger in Wellesley, Massachusetts, and impressed diners from Boston and beyond with the restaurant's innovative East/West cuisine. In its first year, Blue Ginger received three stars from the Boston Globe, was named "Best New Restaurant" by Boston magazine, was nominated by the James Beard Foundation as "Best New Restaurant 1998," and Esquire magazine honored Ming as "Chef of the Year 1998."  In early 2013, Ming opened his second restaurant Blue Dragon - an Asian gastro pub located in the Four Point Channel area of Boston. The tapas-style menu features Ming's East-West approach but now takes a twist on traditional pub favorites. Blue Dragon was named one of Esquire Magazine's "Best New Restaurants 2013" and one of Zagat's "24 new restaurants you need to know about around the US". In addition to his work at Blue Ginger and on his public television series Simply Ming, Ming is also the author of three cookbooks: Blue Ginger: East-Meets-West Cooking with Ming Tsai, Simply Ming, and Ming's Master Recipes.

Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for WGBH Food & Wine updates, Craving Boston updates, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.
 

   

 

RELATED CONTENT


ChefSteps
Craving Boston (Official Website)
Kitchen Vignettes
Recipes

ABOUT SIMPLY MING

Ming Tsai is the host and executive producer of the public television series Simply Ming, currently in its seventh season. Each week, Simply Ming brings mouthwatering recipes into homes across the country, both by Ming and Chefs from around the globe who join him in his Boston-area studio. 

Visit the official Simply Ming website>>

 

myWGBH

Simply Ming Showtimes

Rick Bayless Tue. Sep 26 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Johnny Iuzzini Fri. Sep 29 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Johnny Iuzzini Sat. Sep 30 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Shaun Hergatt Sat. Sep 30 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Shaun Hergatt Sun. Oct 1 at 3:00 PM WGBX 44
Shaun Hergatt Mon. Oct 2 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Shaun Hergatt Tue. Oct 3 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Rocco Dispirito Fri. Oct 6 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Rocco Dispirito Sat. Oct 7 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Carla Hall Sat. Oct 7 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Carla Hall Sun. Oct 8 at 3:00 PM WGBX 44
Sam Hayward Mon. Oct 9 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Sam Hayward Tue. Oct 10 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Gunnar Hvarnes Fri. Oct 13 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Gunnar Hvarnes Sat. Oct 14 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Jacques Pepin Sat. Oct 14 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Jacques Pepin Sun. Oct 15 at 3:00 PM WGBX 44
Geir Skeier Mon. Oct 16 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Geir Skeier Tue. Oct 17 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Orjan Johannessen Fri. Oct 20 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Orjan Johannessen Sat. Oct 21 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Aaron Sanchez Sat. Oct 21 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Aaron Sanchez Sun. Oct 22 at 3:00 PM WGBX 44
Andreas Viestad Mon. Oct 23 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Andreas Viestad Tue. Oct 24 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Will Gilson Fri. Oct 27 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Will Gilson Sat. Oct 28 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Susan Regis Mon. Oct 30 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Susan Regis Tue. Oct 31 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley Fri. Nov 3 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley Sat. Nov 4 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Barbara Lynch Sat. Nov 4 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Barbara Lynch Sun. Nov 5 at 3:00 PM WGBX 44
Hawai'i - Isaac Bancaco Mon. Nov 6 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH