Page Header


The Boston Symphony Orchestra's 2015-2016 Season

Andris Nelsons

The second year of the partnership of Music Director Andris Nelsons and the BSO is marked by an extensive concert and recording project centered on music by Shostakovich, thematic programs that celebrate Shakespeare, new works that highlight the compositional voices of our time, and several appearances by favorite guest artists and conductors.

Join host Ron Della Chiesa each Saturday night at 8pm for live broadcasts of the BSO from Symphony Hall, along with encore broadcasts each Monday at 8pm.

See the broadcast schedule below, and for more details on all the performances and to purchase tickets, visit the Boston Symphony Orchestra Box Office.

2015-2016 WCRB Broadcast Schedule

Lars Vogt

Saturday, October 10, and Monday, October 19

Lars Vogt is the soloist in Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3, and Andris Nelsons conducts Sebastian Currier's Divisions (a BSO co-commission), and the Symphony No. 2 by Brahms.

(Paul Lewis, who had originally been scheduled as the soloist for this concert, has regretfully withdrawn due to a medical condition that prevents him from travelling for a number of weeks.)


Andris Nelsons

Monday, October 12

Music Director Andris Nelsons and the BSO open the season with an All-Russian program, including the Symphony No. 9 by Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1, with soloist Evgeny Kissin, and Rachmaninoff's Symphonic Dances.

Hear Andris Nelsons preview the concert on WCRB's new podcast The Answered Question:

Christina Goerke

Saturday, October 17, and Monday, October 26

Soprano Christine Goerke sings the title role in Strauss's psycho-dramatic masterpiece Elektra, in a concert performance that also includes soprano Gun-Brit Barkmin, mezzo-soprano Jane Henschel, tenor Gerhard Siegel, and baritone James Rutherford, all conducted by Andris Nelsons.

BSO Musicians

Saturday, October 24, and Monday, November 2

The musicians of the BSO perform an All-Dvorák program with no conductor, including the Serenades for Winds and Strings and the Nocturne for Strings.

Pinchas Zukerman

Saturday, October 31, and Monday, November 9

Pinchas Zukerman is both the conductor and violin soloist in a program that includes Tchaikovsky's Mélodie, Andante cantabile, and Serenade, Elgar's Chanson de la nuit, and Schubert's Symphony No. 5.

Ken-David Masur

Saturday, November 7, and Monday, November 16

BSO Assistant Conductor Ken-David Masur conducts Schumann's Symphony No. 3, the "Rhenish," on a program that also includes the American premiere of Unsuk Chin's Mannequin (a BSO co-commission) and Liszt's Totentanz, with piano soloist Louie Lortie.

Christoph von Dohnanyi

Saturday, November 14, and Monday, November 23

Christoph von Dohnányi returns to Symphony Hall to lead the BSO in Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 5, the "Emperor," with soloist Martin Helmchen, Bartók's Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta, and the world premiere of Jean-Frédéric Neuburger's BSO-commissioned Aube ("Dawn").

Isabelle Faust

Saturday, November 21, and Monday, November 30

Isabelle Faust is the soloist in Alban Berg's Violin Concerto, the Tanglewood Festival Chorus sings Bach's Komm, Jesu, komm! and Es ist genug, and the BSO performs the Symphony No. 5 by Shostakovich, all conducted by Andris Nelsons.

Yefim Bronfman

Saturday, November 28, and Monday, December 7

Yefim Bronfman is the soloist in the Piano Concerto No. 2 by Brahms, and Andris Nelsons conducts the Symphony No. 30, "Alleluia," by Haydn, and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 1, "Winter Daydreams."


Saturdays and Mondays in December and early January

As the dark of winter descends across New England, join us for highlights from the warmth of summer in the Berkshires, as we revisit favorite peformances from the BSO's 2015 Tanglewood season.

Holiday Pops

Saturday, December 19, and Monday, December 21

Keith Lockhart, the Boston Pops, and the Tanglewood Festival Chorus add their own brand of exuberance and joy to the season with Holiday Pops!

Francois-Xavier Roth

Saturday, January 9, and Monday, January 18

François-Xavier Roth leads the BSO in François-Joseph Gossec's Symphonie à 17 parties and Beethoven's Symphony No. 3, the "Eroica," as well as Mozart's Concerto for Flute and Harp, featuring BSO Principal Flutist Elizabeth Rowe and BSO Principal Harpist Jessica Zhou.

Jean-Yves Thibaudet

Saturday, January 16, and Monday, January 25

Renée Fleming sings Dutilleux's Le Temps l'Horloge ("Time and the Clock") and selections from Canteloube's Songs of the Auvergne, and François-Xavier Roth conducts Debussy's Jeux and Stravinsky's Petrouchka.

Johannes Moser

Saturday, January 23, and Monday, February 1

Johannes Moser is the soloist in Dvorák's Cello Concerto, part of an All-Czech program that also includes "The Moldau," from Smetana's My Country, and Martinu's Fantaisies symphoniques (Symphony No. 6), all conducted by Jirí Belohlávek.

Amanda Forsythe

Saturday, January 30, and Monday, February 8

In the first of three programs commemorating the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's death, soprano Amanda Forsythe is joined by mezzo-soprano Abigail Fischer and the women of the Tanglewood Festival Chorus in Mendelssohn's complete incidental music for A Midsummer Night's Dream, and Andris Nelsons conducts Weber's Oberon Overture and Henze's Symphony No. 8.

Barbara Hannigan

Saturday, February 6, and Monday, February 15

In the second of three Shakespeare-themed programs, soprano Barbara Hannigan sings Hans Abrahamsen's let me tell you, and Andris Nelsons conducts Shostakovich's Suite from Hamlet and a suite from Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet.

Andris Nelsons

Saturday, February 13, and Monday, February 22

In the final concert of a series of three Shakespeare-themed programs, Andris Nelsons conducts Tchaikovsky's Romeo and Juliet, Strauss's Macbeth, and Dvorák's Othello Overture, as well as the world premiere of Sonnets, by George Tsontakis, featuring BSO English horn player Robert Sheena.

Alina Ibragimova

Saturday, February 20, and Monday, February 29

In her BSO debut, violinist Alina Ibragimova is the soloist in Haydn's Violin Concerto No. 1 and Karl Amadeus Hartmann's Concerto funèbre, and Vladimir Jurowski conducts Haydn's Symphony No. 26, "Lamentatione," and Beethoven's Symphony No. 2.

Charles Dutoit

Saturday, February 27, and Monday, March 7

Charles Dutoit returns to Symphony Hall to conduct Resurrexit and Te Deum by Berlioz, as well as Timbres, by Henri Dutilleux, in a program that features tenor Paul Groves, the Tanglewood Festival Chorus and Voices Boston.

Javier Perianes

Saturday, March 5, and Monday, March 14

In his BSO debut, pianist Javier Perianes is the soloist in Manuel de Falla's Nights in the Gardens of Spain, and Charles Dutoit conducts Ravel's Rapsodie espagnole and the composer's one-act opera L'Heure espagnole.

Herbert Blomstedt

Saturday, March 12, and Monday, March 21

Herbert Blomstedt leads the BSO in an All-Beethoven program, including the Piano Concerto No. 1, with soloist Garrick Ohlsson, and the Symphony No. 7.

Gil Shaham

Saturday, March 19, and Monday, March 28

Gil Shaham is the soloist in the Violin Concerto by John Williams, and Stéphane Denève conducts Jennifer Higdon's Blue Cathedral and the Symphony No. 3, the "Organ" Symphony, by Saint-Saëns.

Nikolai Lugansky

Saturday, March 26, and Monday, April 4

Pianist Nikolai Lugansky is the soloist in Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, and Andris Nelsons leads the BSO in Shostakovich's Symphony No. 8 and Giya Kancheli's Dixi, with the Tanglewood Festival Chorus.

Murray Perahia

Saturday, April 2, and Monday, April 11

Murray Perahia is the soloist in Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4, and Bernard Haitink conducts the Symphony No. 1 by Gustav Mahler.

Andris Nelsons

Saturday, April 9, and Monday, April 18

Music Director Andris Nelsons conducts the Symphony No. 3 by Bruckner, and Concertmaster Malcolm Lowe and Principal Violist Steven Ansell are the soloists in Mozart's Sinfonia concertante, K. 364.

Andris Nelsons

Saturday, April 16, and Monday, April 25

In a return to the first work he performed with the BSO, Andris Nelsons leads the orchestra in the emotionally powerful Symphony No. 9 by Gustav Mahler.

Kristine Opolais

Saturday, April 23, and Monday, May 2

In the final program of the 2015-2016 season, soprano Kristine Opolais sings Rachmaninoff's Zdes' khorosho ("How fair this place") and the Letter Scene from Tchaikovsky's opera Eugene Onegin, and Andris Nelsons conducts three French masterpieces, including Debussy's La Mer, Ravel's La Valse, and Métaboles, by Dutilleux.

More Ways to Listen

Revisit WCRB's BSO and Boston Pops broadcasts from Symphony Hall and Tanglewood, anytime, anywhere.
Go behind the scenes to hear the thoughts and comments of the greatest musicians of our time.
Hear a 24/7, continuous stream of exclusive BSO performances from Symphony Hall and Tanglewood.
Erich LeinsdorfConductor Erich Leinsdorf: The Exit Interview
WCRB celebrates the legacy of one of the BSO's most significant Music Directors with a 1969 television interview and an audio documentary.

Watch the interview and hear the documentary



More Ways to Listen

Revisit WCRB's BSO and Boston Pops broadcasts from Symphony Hall and Tanglewood, anytime, anywhere.
On WCRB's new podcast, go behind the scenes to hear the thoughts and comments of the greatest musicians of our time.
Hear a 24/7, continuous stream of exclusive BSO performances from Symphony Hall and Tanglewood.
On Radio Stations Around New England

Follow WCRB

WCRB Notes

See a sample »




Support WCRB

Make your voice heard.
Donate now

More WCRB Programs

Keith's Classical Corner
Classical Performance Podcast
The Bach Hour




Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor