What matters to you.

Jerome I. Friedman

1990 Nobel Prize, physics

Jerome I. Friedman is one of the three recipients of the 1990 Nobel Prize in Physics. The team members earned this award "for their pioneering investigations concerning deep inelastic scattering of electrons on protons and bound neutrons, which have been of essential importance for the development of the quark model in particle physics". In 1980, he became director of the Laboratory for Nuclear Science at MIT, and then served as head of the Physics Department from 1983 to 1988. During the time he was in these administrative positions he managed to maintain a foothold in research, which greatly eased his transition back to full-time teaching and research in 1988. Friedman has served on a number of program and scientific policy advisory committees at various accelerators. He also was a member of the Board of the University Research Association for six years, serving as vice president for three years. He is currently a member of the High Energy Advisory Panel for the Department of Energy and also Chairman of the Scientific Policy Committee of the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory.