What matters to you.

Forum Network

Free online lectures: Explore a world of ideas

Funding provided by:

Jim Grimsley: Forgiveness and The Last Green Tree

In partnership with:
Date and time
Monday, May 07, 2007

Jim Grimsley discusses two of his works, Forgiveness and The Last Green Tree. Forgiveness is a black, comedic tale of a bankrupt accounting executive who dreams of achieving stardom by murdering his wife. Forgiveness is a morality tale that questions modern preoccupations with fame, the media, and luxury goods. The Last Green Tree is Grimsley's sequel to the award winning The Ordinary, and is a science fiction chronicle of the rise of a war between epic forces.

Jim Grimsley is a playwright and novelist who was born in Rocky Mount, North Carolina in 1955. Jim's first novel *Winter Birds* won the 1995 Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction, given by the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and the Prix Charles Brisset, given by the French Academy of Physicians. The novel also received a special citation from the Ernest Hemingway Foundation as one of three finalists for the PEN/Hemingway Award. Jim's second novel, *Dream Boy*, was published by Algonquin in September, 1995, and won the 1996 Award for Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Literature from the American Library Association; the novel was also one of five finalists for the Lambda Literary Award. Jim has written eleven full-length and four one-act plays, including *Mr. Universe*, *The Lizard of Tarsus*, *White People* and *The Existentialists*. He has been playwright-in-residence at 7Stages Theatre of Atlanta since 1986 and was playwright in residence at About Face Theatre of Chicago from 2000-2004. In 1988 he was awarded the George Oppenheimer Award for Best New American Playwright for his play *Mr. Universe*. He was also awarded the first-ever Bryan Prize for Drama, presented by the Fellowship of Southern Writers for distinguished achievement in playwriting.