The French Chef

A production of  
  

WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

To Roast A Turkey

Thu. Jul 27, 11:00 AM
WGBX 44

Terrines and Pates

Fri. Jul 28, 11:00 AM
WGBX 44

To Make A Buche De Noel (Christmas Dessert)

Mon. Jul 31, 11:00 AM
WGBX 44

This video is available via
WGBH Passport. Learn more.

WGBH | Passport

WGBH Passport is a new myWGBH member benefit that provides online access to an extensive library of PBS programming.

Ladyfingers Genoise

Julia Child observes California's well-know baking teacher Flo Braker as she demonstrates the classic French technique for creating ladyfingers genoise, the batter of which is used as the base for a variety of miniature decorative cakes.

Video only available in WGBH Passport
Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for WGBH Food & Wine updates, Craving Boston updates, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.
 

   

 

RELATED CONTENT


ChefSteps
Craving Boston (Official Website)
Kitchen Vignettes
Recipes

ABOUT THE FRENCH CHEF

Cooking legend and cultural icon Julia Child, along with her pioneering public television series on WGBH, The French Chef, introduced French cuisine to American kitchens. In her passionate and sometimes breathless way, Julia forever changed the way we cook, eat, and think about food. Entertaining, fun, and real in a way that influenced every television cooking program that followed, The French Chef embraced Julia's passion for food and teaching and reflected her joie de vivre: "If I can do it, you can do it... and here’s how to do it!" 

 

 

myWGBH

The French Chef Showtimes

To Roast A Turkey Thu. Jul 27 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Terrines and Pates Fri. Jul 28 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
To Make A Buche De Noel (Christmas Dessert) Mon. Jul 31 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Cheese Souffle Tue. Aug 1 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
The Good Loaf Wed. Aug 2 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
The Hollandaise Family Thu. Aug 3 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Tripes A La Mode Fri. Aug 4 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Sole Bonne Femme Mon. Aug 21 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Orange Bevarian Cream Tue. Aug 22 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
To Stuff A Cabbage Wed. Aug 23 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Elegance with Aspic Thu. Aug 24 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
French Fries Fri. Aug 25 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Vegetables for All Occasions Thu. Aug 31 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Pot Au Feu Fri. Sep 1 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Begin with Shrimp Mon. Sep 4 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Chocolate Cake Tue. Sep 5 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Working with Chocolate Wed. Sep 6 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH