The French Chef

A production of  
  

WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

Omelette Show

Fri. Apr 20, 11:00 AM
WGBX 44

The Lobster Show

Mon. Apr 23, 11:00 AM
WGBX 44

Queen of Sheba Cake (Chocolate Cake)

Tue. Apr 24, 11:00 AM
WGBX 44

This video is available via
WGBH Passport. Learn more.

WGBH | Passport

WGBH Passport is a new myWGBH member benefit that provides online access to an extensive library of PBS programming.

Ladyfingers Genoise

Julia Child observes California's well-know baking teacher Flo Braker as she demonstrates the classic French technique for creating ladyfingers genoise, the batter of which is used as the base for a variety of miniature decorative cakes.

Video only available in WGBH Passport
Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for WGBH Food & Wine updates, Craving Boston updates, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.
 

   

 

RELATED CONTENT


ChefSteps
Craving Boston (Official Website)
Kitchen Vignettes
Recipes

ABOUT THE FRENCH CHEF

Cooking legend and cultural icon Julia Child, along with her pioneering public television series on WGBH, The French Chef, introduced French cuisine to American kitchens. In her passionate and sometimes breathless way, Julia forever changed the way we cook, eat, and think about food. Entertaining, fun, and real in a way that influenced every television cooking program that followed, The French Chef embraced Julia's passion for food and teaching and reflected her joie de vivre: "If I can do it, you can do it... and here’s how to do it!" 

 

 

myWGBH

The French Chef Showtimes

Omelette Show Fri. Apr 20 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
The Lobster Show Mon. Apr 23 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Queen of Sheba Cake (Chocolate Cake) Tue. Apr 24 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Vegetables for All Occasions Wed. Apr 25 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Pot Au Feu Thu. Apr 26 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Begin with Shrimp Fri. Apr 27 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Chocolate Cake Mon. Apr 30 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Working with Chocolate Tue. May 1 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
To Press A Duck Wed. May 2 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Flaky Pastry Thu. May 3 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Glamour Pudding Fri. May 4 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Whole Fish Story Mon. May 7 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
V.I.P. Veal: Poitrine Farcie Tue. May 8 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Brochettes, Kebabs, and Skewers Wed. May 9 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Rye Bread Thu. May 10 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Flaming Fish Fri. May 11 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Summer Salads Mon. May 14 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Coq Au Vin Alias Chicken Fricasee Tue. May 15 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Mousse Au Chocolat Wed. May 16 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
To Stuff A Sausage Fri. May 18 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Terrines and Pates Mon. May 21 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
The Potato Show Thu. May 24 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Omelette Show Fri. May 25 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
The Lobster Show Mon. May 28 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Queen of Sheba Cake (Chocolate Cake) Tue. May 29 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
To Roast A Turkey Wed. May 30 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Cheese Souffle Thu. May 31 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
The Good Loaf Fri. Jun 1 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH