The French Chef

A production of  
  

WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

Elegance with Aspic

Wed. Dec 13, 11:00 AM
WGBX 44

French Fries

Thu. Dec 14, 11:00 AM
WGBX 44

The Potato Show

Wed. Dec 20, 11:00 AM
WGBX 44

Italian Cookies

Author and master teacher at Peter Kump's New York City Cooking School, Nick Malgieri, bakes a cornmeal-currant biscotti, amaretti or Italian almond macaroons, and waffle-like cookies named pizelles or little pizzas because of their round, flat shape. He demonstrates the two ways to work the biscotti dough to form zaleti (diamond shape cookies). He also shows how to pipe out the amaretti dough.

Video only available in WGBH Passport
Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for WGBH Food & Wine updates, Craving Boston updates, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.
 

   

 

RELATED CONTENT


ChefSteps
Craving Boston (Official Website)
Kitchen Vignettes
Recipes

ABOUT THE FRENCH CHEF

Cooking legend and cultural icon Julia Child, along with her pioneering public television series on WGBH, The French Chef, introduced French cuisine to American kitchens. In her passionate and sometimes breathless way, Julia forever changed the way we cook, eat, and think about food. Entertaining, fun, and real in a way that influenced every television cooking program that followed, The French Chef embraced Julia's passion for food and teaching and reflected her joie de vivre: "If I can do it, you can do it... and here’s how to do it!" 

 

 

myWGBH

The French Chef Showtimes

Elegance with Aspic Wed. Dec 13 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
French Fries Thu. Dec 14 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
The Potato Show Wed. Dec 20 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Omelette Show Thu. Dec 21 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
The Lobster Show Fri. Dec 22 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
The Potato Show Sat. Dec 23 at 11:30 AM WGBH 2
Omelette Show Sat. Dec 23 at 12:00 PM WGBH 2
The Lobster Show Sat. Dec 23 at 12:30 PM WGBH 2
Queen of Sheba Cake (Chocolate Cake) Sat. Dec 23 at 1:00 PM WGBH 2
To Roast A Turkey Sat. Dec 23 at 1:30 PM WGBH 2
Cheese Souffle Sat. Dec 23 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
The Good Loaf Sat. Dec 23 at 2:30 PM WGBH 2
The Hollandaise Family Sat. Dec 23 at 3:00 PM WGBH 2
Begin with Shrimp Sat. Dec 23 at 3:30 PM WGBH 2
Working with Chocolate Sat. Dec 23 at 4:00 PM WGBH 2
Flaming Fish Sat. Dec 23 at 4:30 PM WGBH 2
Coq Au Vin Alias Chicken Fricasee Sat. Dec 23 at 5:00 PM WGBH 2
Vegetables for All Occasions Sat. Dec 23 at 5:30 PM WGBH 2
To Press A Duck Sat. Dec 23 at 6:00 PM WGBH 2
To Make A Buche De Noel (Christmas Dessert) Sat. Dec 23 at 6:30 PM WGBH 2
Queen of Sheba Cake (Chocolate Cake) Mon. Dec 25 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Vegetables for All Occasions Tue. Dec 26 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Pot Au Feu Wed. Dec 27 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Begin with Shrimp Thu. Dec 28 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Chocolate Cake Fri. Dec 29 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Working with Chocolate Mon. Jan 1 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
To Press A Duck Tue. Jan 2 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Flaky Pastry Wed. Jan 3 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Glamour Pudding Thu. Jan 4 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Whole Fish Story Fri. Jan 5 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
V.I.P. Veal: Poitrine Farcie Mon. Jan 8 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Brochettes, Kebabs, and Skewers Tue. Jan 9 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Rye Bread Wed. Jan 10 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Flaming Fish Thu. Jan 11 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Summer Salads Fri. Jan 12 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Coq Au Vin Alias Chicken Fricasee Mon. Jan 15 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Mousse Au Chocolat Tue. Jan 16 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
To Stuff A Sausage Thu. Jan 18 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Terrines and Pates Fri. Jan 19 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
To Roast A Turkey Mon. Jan 22 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44
Cheese Souffle Tue. Jan 23 at 11:00 AM WGBX 44

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH