Friday, Jan. 14 Week In Review

The Emily Rooney Show

A production of  

Recent Episodes

Fri. 7/6/12
Summer Reads

Fri. 7/6/12
Summer Reads

The Emily Rooney Show

We hear from area authors and literary insiders who reveal what’s on their summer reading lists. Plus we open up the phone lines and take your recommendations.

Thurs. 7/5/12
White House Burning

Thurs. 7/5/12
White House Burning

The Emily Rooney Show

We're joined by the authors of White House Burning, which argues that the national debt is eating away at America's future and that the consequences will be dire.

Wed. 7/4/12
Elizabeth The Queen: The Life Of A Modern Monarch

Wed. 7/4/12
Elizabeth The Queen: The Life Of A Modern Monarch

The Emily Rooney Show

In honor of Independence Day, we aired a special rewind episode about Elizabeth the Queen.

Wed. 7/4/12
Rebecca Eaton's 'Masterpiece'

Wed. 7/4/12
Rebecca Eaton's 'Masterpiece'

The Emily Rooney Show

A special rewind episode featuring Masterpiece Executive Producer Rebecca Eaton in the studio to discuss Downton Abbey's success and how she plans to stay on top.

Tues. 7/3/12
In The Studio With Dan Bern

Tues. 7/3/12
In The Studio With Dan Bern

The Emily Rooney Show

Our resident provocateur Steve Almond returns with an in-studio performance by Dan Bern and his backing band, Common Rotation.

Tues. 7/3/12
One On One With Tom Hamilton

Tues. 7/3/12
One On One With Tom Hamilton

The Emily Rooney Show

Tom Hamilton joins us – ahead of Aerosmith’s North American Tour – to explain what keeps him, Steven Tyler and the rest of the “Bad Boys From Boston” going after 40 years.


Latest Comments


Related Content

Week In Review: After a scathing report details the numerous institutional missteps that led to the death of a Woburn Police officer, Governor Deval Patrick vows to overhaul the state parole system and restore public confidence. The shooting rampage in Tucson that gravely injured a member of congress and left six people dead raises new questions about the tone of political rhetoric in America. We’ll also mark the somber first anniversaries of the Haiti earthquake and Phoebe Prince’s suicide; discuss Patrice Tierney’s jail sentence; and mull the 2012 senate candidacy of several new names. Plus, what’s your NEW sign? Thumbs up, thumbs down on the Zodiac changes, snow days, “tiger mothering” and a ban on smoking in public parks. All that and more today as we review this week in the news. I’m joined by Boston Globe columnist Kevin Cullen, The Boston Herald’s Dave Wedge and social critic and attorney Wendy Kaminer.

99.5 WCRB: Ocotober 2014: Pledge