Fri. 12/23/11 Year In Review

The Emily Rooney Show

A production of  

Recent Episodes

Fri. 7/6/12
Summer Reads

Fri. 7/6/12
Summer Reads

The Emily Rooney Show

We hear from area authors and literary insiders who reveal what’s on their summer reading lists. Plus we open up the phone lines and take your recommendations.

Thurs. 7/5/12
White House Burning

Thurs. 7/5/12
White House Burning

The Emily Rooney Show

We're joined by the authors of White House Burning, which argues that the national debt is eating away at America's future and that the consequences will be dire.

Wed. 7/4/12
Elizabeth The Queen: The Life Of A Modern Monarch

Wed. 7/4/12
Elizabeth The Queen: The Life Of A Modern Monarch

The Emily Rooney Show

In honor of Independence Day, we aired a special rewind episode about Elizabeth the Queen.

Wed. 7/4/12
Rebecca Eaton's 'Masterpiece'

Wed. 7/4/12
Rebecca Eaton's 'Masterpiece'

The Emily Rooney Show

A special rewind episode featuring Masterpiece Executive Producer Rebecca Eaton in the studio to discuss Downton Abbey's success and how she plans to stay on top.

Tues. 7/3/12
In The Studio With Dan Bern

Tues. 7/3/12
In The Studio With Dan Bern

The Emily Rooney Show

Our resident provocateur Steve Almond returns with an in-studio performance by Dan Bern and his backing band, Common Rotation.

Tues. 7/3/12
One On One With Tom Hamilton

Tues. 7/3/12
One On One With Tom Hamilton

The Emily Rooney Show

Tom Hamilton joins us – ahead of Aerosmith’s North American Tour – to explain what keeps him, Steven Tyler and the rest of the “Bad Boys From Boston” going after 40 years.


Latest Comments


Related Content

Year In Review
WIR Panel 12232011 will go down in history as the year the FBI’s two most wanted criminals were found. Whitey Bulger in custody, Osama bin Laden dead. Plus, protests from Tahrir Square to Dewey Square demonstrate the power of the people. And, from Anthony Weiner, to Penn State, to Arnold Schwarzenegger, to Sal DiMasi, scandal and disgrace went hand in hand. Locally, we saw the long awaited passage of the casino bill. Nationally, partisanship reached new heights, as congressional approval ratings sank to all-time lows. Red Sox aside, there was – of course – some good news too. The B’s bring home the Stanley Cup, the Pats are on a roll, and with the lockout over, the Celts kick off their season this weekend. This hour, we look back at the people and events that shaped the year that was.

Guests:
  Dave Wedge, The Boston Herald
  Shannon O’Brien, former state treasurer
  Kara Miller, WGBH contributor

To You It's general-donate-adlob