A production of  
  

WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

Texas 2

Tue. Feb 28, 12:30 AM
WGBH CREATE

Texas 3

Fri. Mar 3, 7:00 PM
WGBH CREATE

Texas 3

Sat. Mar 4, 12:30 AM
WGBH CREATE

Simply Ming: Season 14 Sizzle Reel

Season 14 of the Daytime Emmy-winning SIMPLY MING kicks off with a technique demonstration, followed by the creation of two dishes — one prepared by a nationally renowned guest chef and one by the James Beard-and-Emmy Award-winning host Ming Tsai. Ming and his guests must design and improvise a meal with items found in Ming's East-West pantry along with a few surprise ingredients. This season's guest chefs include: Lidia Bastianich, Rocco DiSpirito, Daniel Boulud, Jacques Pepin, Rick Bayless and more, preparing an array of dishes and desserts from Scandinavian halibut, Maine mussels and a spinach pasta to a lobster risotto, crispy calamari and a dark and stormy soufflé from pastry master Johnny Iuzzini. And Ming goes back on the road this season, with eight very special episodes featuring exotic new dishes from Hawaii’s big island and Norway

More about Ming

Ming, shown here with his parents, Stephen and Iris Tsai, was raised in Dayton, Ohio, where he spent hours cooking alongside his mother and father at their family-owned restaurant. With a passion for food even after earning his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering from Yale University, he spent time training in kitchens around the globe. In 1998, Ming opened Blue Ginger in Wellesley, Massachusetts, and impressed diners from Boston and beyond with the restaurant's innovative East/West cuisine. In its first year, Blue Ginger received three stars from the Boston Globe, was named "Best New Restaurant" by Boston magazine, was nominated by the James Beard Foundation as "Best New Restaurant 1998," and Esquire magazine honored Ming as "Chef of the Year 1998."  In early 2013, Ming opened his second restaurant Blue Dragon - an Asian gastro pub located in the Four Point Channel area of Boston. The tapas-style menu features Ming's East-West approach but now takes a twist on traditional pub favorites. Blue Dragon was named one of Esquire Magazine's "Best New Restaurants 2013" and one of Zagat's "24 new restaurants you need to know about around the US". In addition to his work at Blue Ginger and on his public television series Simply Ming, Ming is also the author of three cookbooks: Blue Ginger: East-Meets-West Cooking with Ming Tsai, Simply Ming, and Ming's Master Recipes.

Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for WGBH Food & Wine updates, Craving Boston updates, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.
 

   

 

RELATED CONTENT


ChefSteps
Craving Boston (Official Website)
Kitchen Vignettes
Recipes

ABOUT SIMPLY MING

Ming Tsai is the host and executive producer of the public television series Simply Ming, currently in its seventh season. Each week, Simply Ming brings mouthwatering recipes into homes across the country, both by Ming and Chefs from around the globe who join him in his Boston-area studio. 

Visit the official Simply Ming website>>

 

myWGBH

Simply Ming Showtimes

Texas 2 Tue. Feb 28 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Texas 3 Fri. Mar 3 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Texas 3 Sat. Mar 4 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Texas 2 Sat. Mar 4 at 12:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Texas 2 Sun. Mar 5 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Texas 4 Tue. Mar 7 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Carla Hall Sat. Mar 11 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Texas 4 Sat. Mar 11 at 12:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Texas 4 Sun. Mar 12 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Ed Lee Mon. Mar 13 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Ed Lee Tue. Mar 14 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Tiffani Faison Fri. Mar 17 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Tiffani Faison Sat. Mar 18 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Ed Lee Sat. Mar 18 at 12:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Ed Lee Sun. Mar 19 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Jamie Bissonnette Mon. Mar 20 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Jamie Bissonnette Tue. Mar 21 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Todd English Fri. Mar 24 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Todd English Sat. Mar 25 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Jamie Bissonnette Sat. Mar 25 at 12:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Jamie Bissonnette Sun. Mar 26 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Matt Jennings Mon. Mar 27 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Matt Jennings Tue. Mar 28 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Ken Oringer Fri. Mar 31 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Ken Oringer Sat. Apr 1 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Susan Regis Sat. Apr 1 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Susan Regis Sun. Apr 2 at 3:00 PM WGBX 44
Michael Schlow Mon. Apr 3 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Michael Schlow Tue. Apr 4 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Joanne Chang Fri. Apr 7 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Joanne Chang Sat. Apr 8 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley Sat. Apr 8 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley Sun. Apr 9 at 3:00 PM WGBX 44
Ivan Orkin Mon. Apr 10 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH