WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

Say Thank You to Your Face Day

Thu. Dec 8, 10:00 AM
WGBH 2

Funny Farm

Fri. Dec 9, 10:00 AM
WGBH 2

Say Thank You to Your Face Day

Sat. Dec 10, 6:30 AM
WGBX 44

Elmo's Getting Ready for School

Oh hi! Elmo is all set and ready to go to school! Elmo just needs to find his backpack... Hm, where could it be? What does YOUR backpack look like?

Since 1969, children and adults alike have flocked to the place where multiethnic, multigenerational, and even multispecies residents coexist in harmony. The people on this very special street learn life’s lessons together, provide viewers with strong role models, and teach children that everyone brings a special ability to the community. Here, children learn to use their imaginations, build social skills, and respect people’s differences. The phenomenon that changed the face of children’s television came about after co-founder Joan Ganz Cooney observed that children in underserved communities were at a disadvantage when it came to school preparedness. She assembled a team of educational advisors, researchers, and television producers to create a show that would directly impact children’s lives. Sesame Street put television to work as an educational tool, and independent research has repeatedly and conclusively proven that the approach succeeds in improving cognitive skills, teaching respect and social skills, and promoting school readiness skills. Children who watch the show as two-year-olds gain an advantage in math, vocabulary, and other school readiness skills by the time they are five. Sesame Workshop’s international co-productions are carefully crafted to meet local children’s specific educational needs. Child development experts from each country work with local directors, producers, and writers to translate the show’s magic in a way that resonates with children in a given country or region. The action takes place in a variety of familiar, child-friendly settings, including a plaza in Mexico and a marketplace in South Africa. Additionally, each co-production includes characters – such as Samson, a big brown bear in Germany; Halum, a tiger in Bangladesh; and Tantan, an orangutan in Indonesia – that have been designed by local teams to have particular cultural relevance.

Click HERE to go to the official Sesame Street website, where you'll find games, videos, and activities!

Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for updates from the WGBH Parents' Guide, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.


ABOUT SESAME STREET

More than ABCs and 123s, Sesame Street is about helping children in more than 140 countries develop the cognitive, social, and emotional skills essential in today's world.

myWGBH

Sesame Street Showtimes

Say Thank You to Your Face Day Thu. Dec 8 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Funny Farm Fri. Dec 9 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Say Thank You to Your Face Day Sat. Dec 10 at 6:30 AM WGBX 44
Abby Makes The Seasons Change Mon. Dec 12 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Roccos Playdate Tue. Dec 13 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
The Best Friend Band Wed. Dec 14 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Roccos Playdate Thu. Dec 15 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Say Thank You to Your Face Day Fri. Dec 16 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Roccos Playdate Sat. Dec 17 at 6:30 AM WGBX 44
Enthusiastic Penelope Penguin Tue. Dec 20 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Mi Amiguita Rosita Wed. Dec 21 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Enthusiastic Penelope Penguin Thu. Dec 22 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Dont Get Pushy Fri. Dec 23 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Enthusiastic Penelope Penguin Sat. Dec 24 at 6:30 AM WGBX 44
Elmo Steps In for Super Grover Mon. Dec 26 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Roccos Playdate Tue. Dec 27 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Dont Get Pushy Thu. Dec 29 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
The Best Friend Band Fri. Dec 30 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Dont Get Pushy Sat. Dec 31 at 6:30 AM WGBX 44
Chicken Thunderstorms Mon. Jan 2 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
School for Chickens Tue. Jan 3 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Roccos Playdate Wed. Jan 4 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
School for Chickens Thu. Jan 5 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Chicken Thunderstorms Fri. Jan 6 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
School for Chickens Sat. Jan 7 at 6:30 AM WGBX 44
Grovers Street Safari Mon. Jan 9 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Move It! Tue. Jan 10 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Enthusiastic Penelope Penguin Wed. Jan 11 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Grovers Street Safari Thu. Jan 12 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Move It! Fri. Jan 13 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Grovers Street Safari Sat. Jan 14 at 6:30 AM WGBX 44
Booboo Busters Mon. Jan 16 at 2:30 PM 'GBH KIDS
When Dinosaurs Walked Sesame Mon. Jan 16 at 3:00 PM 'GBH KIDS
Booboo Busters Mon. Jan 16 at 10:30 PM 'GBH KIDS
When Dinosaurs Walked Sesame Mon. Jan 16 at 11:00 PM 'GBH KIDS
Booboo Busters Tue. Jan 17 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
When Dinosaurs Walked Sesame Tue. Jan 17 at 2:30 PM 'GBH KIDS
Grovers Street Safari Tue. Jan 17 at 3:00 PM 'GBH KIDS
When Dinosaurs Walked Sesame Tue. Jan 17 at 10:30 PM 'GBH KIDS
Grovers Street Safari Tue. Jan 17 at 11:00 PM 'GBH KIDS
When Dinosaurs Walked Sesame Wed. Jan 18 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Enthusiastic Penelope Penguin Wed. Jan 18 at 2:30 PM 'GBH KIDS
Move It! Wed. Jan 18 at 3:00 PM 'GBH KIDS
Enthusiastic Penelope Penguin Wed. Jan 18 at 10:30 PM 'GBH KIDS
Move It! Wed. Jan 18 at 11:00 PM 'GBH KIDS
Enthusiastic Penelope Penguin Thu. Jan 19 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Dress-Up Club Thu. Jan 19 at 2:30 PM 'GBH KIDS
Booboo Busters Thu. Jan 19 at 3:00 PM 'GBH KIDS
Dress-Up Club Thu. Jan 19 at 10:30 PM 'GBH KIDS
Booboo Busters Thu. Jan 19 at 11:00 PM 'GBH KIDS

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH