WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

Abby Schools In Cool

Thu. Sep 3, 10:00 AM
WGBH 2

The Good Sport

Fri. Sep 4, 10:00 AM
WGBH 2

Waiting for the Present

Mon. Sep 7, 10:00 AM
WGBH 2

Sesame Street begins its 40th anniversary season

After four decades of broadcasting and an amazing 122 Emmy Awards, the longest-running program in the history of children’s television celebrates its 40th birthday when it begins a new season on Nov. 10 — with an all-new look and format. Get a sneak peek at highlights from the upcoming season!

More Sesame Street

 

sesame street cast

Celebrating 40 years

After four decades of broadcasting and 122 Emmy Awards, the longest-running program in the history of children’s television celebrated its 40th anniversary when it began a new season on Nov. 10, 2009, with a new look and format.

michelle obama on sesame streetNew nature curriculum

While maintaining an emphasis on the importance of literacy and numeracy, the new season kicks off “My World Is Green & Growing,” a two-year science initiative designed to increase positive attitudes toward nature, deepen children's knowledge about the natural world, and encourage behavior that shows respect for the environment. First Lady Michelle Obama (shown) appears in the first episode to explain the benefits of planting a garden and healthy eating as part of Sesame Street’s ongoing “Healthy Habits for Life” initiative.

Sesame Street is beloved by children, trusted by parents, and honored with more Emmy Awards than any single show in television history. But its greatest honor is reflected in more than 1,000 studies proving that Sesame Street makes measurable and long-lasting contributions to children's lives.

Sesame Street podcast

The Sesame Street podcast is a series of portable video episodes featuring Murray Monster and all your other favorite Muppets. Sign up to get new episodes delivered every week to your computer, video iPod, or other media player, and turn any moment into a learning moment for your child. Or you can watch a new video every week right here on wgbh.org (requires the free Adobe Flash Player 9).

Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for updates from the WGBH Parents' Guide, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.


ABOUT SESAME STREET

More than ABCs and 123s, Sesame Street is about helping children in more than 140 countries develop the cognitive, social, and emotional skills essential in today's world.

myWGBH

Sesame Street Showtimes

Abby Schools In Cool Thu. Sep 3 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
The Good Sport Fri. Sep 4 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Waiting for the Present Mon. Sep 7 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Jack B. Nimble Can't Sit Down Tue. Sep 8 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Inspected By 4 Wed. Sep 9 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Elmo The Grouch Thu. Sep 10 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Latinization of Marco Fri. Sep 11 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Music Magic Mon. Sep 14 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Elmozilla Tue. Sep 15 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Cast Iron Cooks Wed. Sep 16 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Sesame-O-Saurus Thu. Sep 17 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
The Furry Four Fri. Sep 18 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Earnie's Dance Video Mon. Sep 21 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Everyday Magic Tue. Sep 22 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Grover Does It All Wed. Sep 23 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Big Bird Loses His Nest Thu. Sep 24 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Best House of the Year Fri. Sep 25 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Fifteen's Quinceanera Mon. Sep 28 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Bicycle Built By Two Tue. Sep 29 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Chaos at Hoopers Store Wed. Sep 30 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Oscar's Clean Tuxedo Thu. Oct 1 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Shape-O-Bots Fri. Oct 2 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Peter Pipers Purpose Mon. Oct 5 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Where's Itsy Spider Tue. Oct 6 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
If Me Had That Wand Wed. Oct 7 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Music Magic Thu. Oct 8 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Papa Bear Goes to Preschool Fri. Oct 9 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
The Biggest Lose Mon. Oct 12 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Abby Schools In Cool Tue. Oct 13 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2
Calm Down and Think, Elmo Wed. Oct 14 at 10:00 AM WGBH 2

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH