WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

Independent Lens

Sat. Feb 24, 2:00 PM
WGBH WORLD

Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities

Sat. Feb 24, 9:00 PM
WGBX 44

Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities

Sun. Feb 25, 3:00 AM
WGBX 44

Tell Them We Are Rising

Though much of its history was eclipsed by the explosiveness of the 1960s, the essential role the nation’s historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) played in shaping black life, creating a black middle class and dismantling segregation cannot be overstated.

Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for updates from the WGBH Your Don't-Miss List, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.
 

   

 

ABOUT INDEPENDENT LENS

Encompassing the full spectrum of film — from history to drama to animation to shorts to social-issue films — this anthology series allows audiences greater access to powerful and innovative programs united by the creative freedom, artistic achievement, and unflinching visions of their independent producers.

Visit the official Independent Lens website on pbs.org >>

 

myWGBH

Independent Lens Showtimes

Independent Lens Sat. Feb 24 at 2:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities Sat. Feb 24 at 9:00 PM WGBX 44
Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities Sun. Feb 25 at 3:00 AM WGBX 44
Birth of a Movement Sun. Feb 25 at 5:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Accidental Courtesy Sun. Feb 25 at 10:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Accidental Courtesy Mon. Feb 26 at 2:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Birth of a Movement Mon. Feb 26 at 4:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Accidental Courtesy Mon. Feb 26 at 10:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Rat Film Mon. Feb 26 at 10:00 PM WGBH 2
Rat Film Tue. Feb 27 at 1:00 AM WGBH 2
Birth of a Movement Tue. Feb 27 at 5:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Birth of a Movement Tue. Feb 27 at 11:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Accidental Courtesy Tue. Feb 27 at 6:30 PM WGBH WORLD
Rat Film Wed. Feb 28 at 4:00 AM WGBX 44
Rat Film Wed. Feb 28 at 8:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Rat Film Thu. Mar 1 at 12:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Rat Film Thu. Mar 1 at 8:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Rat Film Thu. Mar 1 at 2:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Rat Film Sat. Mar 3 at 12:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Rat Film Sun. Mar 4 at 3:00 AM WGBX 44
Little White Lie Tue. Mar 6 at 1:00 AM WGBH 2
Little White Lie Wed. Mar 7 at 4:00 AM WGBX 44
Little White Lie Wed. Mar 7 at 7:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Ovarian Psycos Wed. Mar 7 at 9:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Little White Lie Thu. Mar 8 at 12:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Ovarian Psycos Thu. Mar 8 at 2:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Little White Lie Thu. Mar 8 at 8:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Little White Lie Thu. Mar 8 at 2:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Little White Lie Sat. Mar 10 at 12:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Born to Fly: Elizabeth Streb Vs. Gravity Sun. Mar 11 at 1:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Little White Lie Sun. Mar 11 at 4:00 AM WGBX 44
Born to Fly: Elizabeth Streb Vs. Gravity Tue. Mar 13 at 1:00 AM WGBH 2
Born to Fly: Elizabeth Streb Vs. Gravity Tue. Mar 13 at 6:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Born to Fly: Elizabeth Streb Vs. Gravity Wed. Mar 14 at 4:00 AM WGBX 44
Born to Fly: Elizabeth Streb Vs. Gravity Sat. Mar 17 at 4:00 AM WGBX 44
Born to Fly: Elizabeth Streb Vs. Gravity Sun. Mar 18 at 3:00 AM WGBX 44
Dolores Tue. Mar 27 at 9:00 PM WGBH 2
Dolores Wed. Mar 28 at 2:00 AM WGBX 44
Dolores Wed. Mar 28 at 8:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Dolores Thu. Mar 29 at 12:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Dolores Thu. Mar 29 at 4:00 AM WGBX 44
Dolores Thu. Mar 29 at 8:00 AM WGBH WORLD
Dolores Thu. Mar 29 at 2:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Dolores Sat. Mar 31 at 12:00 PM WGBH WORLD
Dolores Sat. Mar 31 at 9:00 PM WGBX 44
Dolores Sun. Apr 1 at 3:00 AM WGBX 44
When God Sleeps Mon. Apr 2 at 10:00 PM WGBH 2
When God Sleeps Tue. Apr 3 at 1:00 AM WGBH 2
When God Sleeps Wed. Apr 4 at 4:00 AM WGBX 44
When God Sleeps Wed. Apr 4 at 8:30 PM WGBH WORLD

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH