Tanglewood 2016


Boston Symphony Orchestra Music Director Andris Nelsons leads five  concerts, and conductor Charles Dutoit is the 2016 Koussevitzky Artist during the BSO's summer season in the Berkshires. 

To hear a preview with BSO Artistic Administrator Tony Fogg, click on "Listen" above.


lion gate at tanglewood

Highlights of the season:

Andris Nelsons
Andris Nelsons
(credit Marco Borggreve)

Andris Nelsons
The Music Director of the BSO will conduct five full concerts:

  • Fri., July 29 - Jonathan Biss is the soloist in Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 27, and Nelsons conducts Mahler's Symphony No. 9.
  • Sat., July 30 - Augustin Hadelich is the soloist in the Violin Concerto by Sibelius, and Nelsons conducts Corigliano's Fantasia on an Ostinato and Beethoven's Symphony No. 7.
  • Sun., July 31 - Nelsons conducts the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra in an All-Brahms program, including the Symphony No. 1 and the Piano Concerto No. 1, with soloist Paul Lewis.
  • Sat., August 20 - Soprano Kristine Opolais headlines the cast of Acts I and II of Verdi's Aida.
  • Sun., Aug. 21 - Nelsons leads three works inspired by Shakespeare, including the Beatrice and Benedict Overture by Berlioz, Sonnets, by George Tsontakis and featuring English horn soloist Robert Sheena, and Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet, and Dejan Lazic is the soloist in the Piano Concerto No. 5, the "Egyptian," by Saint-Saëns.
Charles Dutoit
Charles Dutoit

Charles Dutoit
As the 2016 Koussevitzky Artist, the Swiss conductor will conduct three concerts and curate a fourth:

  • Fri., August 12 - Emanuel Ax is the soloist in Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 22, and Dutoit conducts the BSO in works by Nicolai, Debussy, and Ravel.
  • Mon., August 15 - Dutoit leads the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra in a program that includes Kodály's Dances of Galanta, Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto, with soloist Gil Shaham, and Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring.
  • Thur., August 18 - With his wife, violinist Chantal Juillet, Dutoit directs a program of large-scale chamber works, including Stravinksy's The Soldier's Tale.
  • Fri., August 19 - Menahem Pressler is the soloist in Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 23, and Dutoit leads the BSO and Tanglewood Festival Chorus in Rossini's Stabat Mater.
Keith Lockhart
Keith Lockhart
Boston Pops
  • Sun., July 10 - Seth MacFarlane visits the Berkshires to join Keith Lockhart and the Pops in selections from the Great American Songbook.
  • Sat., Aug. 13 - Pops Conductor Laureate John Williams leads the Pops in legendary music of Hollywood, including selections from his own unprecedented catalog of film scores.
  • Fri., Aug. 26 - Indiana Jones comes to the Berkshires as Keith Lockhart and the Pops perform a live accompaniment to a screening of Raiders of the Lost Ark.
Seiji Ozawa Hall
Seiji Ozawa Hall
Visiting Artists in Ozawa Hall
  • Thu., July 7 - Hespèrion XXI and director Jordi Savall
  • Tue., July 12, and Wed., July 13 - Emerson Quartet and soprano Renée Fleming (July 13)
  • Thu., July 14 - The Knights
  • Wed., July 27 - Chanticleer
  • Wed., Aug. 3 - pianist Nelson Freire
  • Thu., Aug. 4 - pianist Daniil Trifonov
  • Sun., Aug. 14 - Australian Chamber Orchestra, with Barry Humphries and Meow Meow, in a program that pays the hedonistic cabaret world of Berlin's Weimar Republic



  For more details, visit the Boston Symphony Orchestra.


(photo of the Lion Gate at Tanglewood by Stu Rosner, courtesy of the BSO)










WCRB Programs

Boston Symphony Orchestra
The Bach Hour

CD of the Week
Classical Performance Podcast

Sunday Night Opera

Follow WCRB

Sign Up

Sign-up for updates from 99.5 WCRB, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.




Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor