Boston Symphony Orchestra

Frühbeck Conducts Brahms and Beethoven

Thursday, November 28, 2013
0 Comments   0 comments.

A BSO World Premiere

Thursday, November 21, 2013
0 Comments   0 comments.

Tanglewood 2014

Tuesday, November 19, 2013
0 Comments   0 comments.

lion gate at tanglewood

The Boston Symphony Orchestra's 2014 Tanglewood season features an Opening Night with Renée Fleming, four concerts with BSO Music Director Designate Andris Nelsons, and much more.


Highlights of the season:
 

Renee Fleming
Renée Fleming
(credit Andrew Eccles/Decca)
Opening Night
On July 5, the summer opens with soprano Renée Fleming in a BSO all-American program, including great works from the concert hall and opera stage, as well as favorites from musical theatre and popular genres.
   
Andris Nelsons
Andris Nelsons
(credit Marco Borggreve)
Andris Nelsons
The Music Director Designate of the BSO will conduct four concerts:
  • Fri., July 11 - All-Dvorák program, with violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter
  • Sat., July 12 - works by Richard Strauss, Rachmaninoff, and Ravel, with both the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra and the BSO
  • Sat., July 19 - works by Brahms, Martinsson, and Tchaikovsky, with trumpeter Håkan Hardenberger
  • Sun., July 20 - works by Rouse, Lalo, and Beethoven, with violinist Joshua Bell
   
Christoph von Dohnanyi
Christoph von Dohnányi
More BSO Highlights
  • Sun., July 6 - Pianist Garrick Ohlsson plays Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 2
  • Fri., July 18 - Baritone Thomas Hampson sings Copland's Old American Songs
  • Fri., July 25 - Pianist Paul Lewis plays Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 12
  • Sat., July 19 - Christoph von Dohnányi conducts Mahler's Symphony No. 2, the "Resurrection"
  • Sun., July 27 - Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos conducts the BSO and Tanglewood Festival Chorus in selections from Verdi's operas, including the Finale of Act II of Aida
  • Sun., July 27 - Leonard Slatkin conducts Elgar's Enigma Variations and Barber's Violin Concerto with soloist Gil Shaham
  • Sun., Aug. 24 - Charles Dutoit conducts Beethoven's Choral Fantasy and Symphony No. 9, the "Ode to Joy," to close the BSO Tanglewood season
   
Jason Alexander
Jason Alexander
Boston Pops
  • Sun., July 13 - Jason Alexander, Broadway star and Seinfeld alum, joins the Pops Conductor Keith Lockhart for selections from The Music Man and more
  • Sat., August 2 - Film Night with Laureate Conductor John Williams
  • Fri., August 22 - Keith Lockhart leads the Pops in a live orchestral accompaniment to The Wizart of Oz in a celebration of the film's 75th anniversary
   
Dawn Upshaw
Dawn Upshaw
(credit Dario Acosta)
Visiting Ensembles
  • Wed., July 9 - Chanticleer
  • Tue., July 15 - Sequentia Ensemble for Medieval Music
  • Wed., July 23 - The Knights, with soprano Dawn Upshaw
  • Thu., July 24 - National Youth Orchestra of the United States of American, David Robertson, conductor
  • Wed., August 6 - The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Paavo Järvi, conductor; with pianist Lars Vogt
  • Wed., July 23 - Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra, Nicholas McGegan, conductor
   
Lizzie Borden
Heather Johnson as Lizzie Borden
(credit Eric Antoniou/BLO)
Opera
  • Thu., July 31 - Beeson's Lizzie Borden, with Boston Lyric Opera
  • Thu., August 14 - Handel's Teseo, with the Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra
  • Sat., August 16 - Bernstein's Candide, with conductor Bramwell Tovey and the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Tanglewood Festival Chorus
   
John Harbison
John Harbison
Festival of Contemporary Music
  • July 17 - 21, directed by John Harbison and Michael Gandolfi
  • Focus on American composers, including John Adams, Steve Mackey, George Perle, Bernard Rands, and Roger Sessions
  • Special spotlight on a younger generation of American composers, including Anthony Cheung, Hannah Lash, Eric Nathan, and Kate Soper
  For more details, visit the Boston Symphony Orchestra.


(photo of the Lion Gate at Tanglewood by Stu Rosner, courtesy of the BSO)

 



Britten's War Requiem

Wednesday, November 6, 2013
0 Comments   0 comments.

Download Bach's Toccata and Fugue

Thursday, October 31, 2013
0 Comments   0 comments.

Dutoit Conducts Elgar's Enigma

Thursday, October 31, 2013
0 Comments   0 comments.

About the Author

RSS   RSS

Vehicle donation


Vehicle donation (June 2012) 89.7

Topics

 
You are on page 3 of 44   |